Cnn.com – Transcripts

Aired October 12, 2003 – 21:00   ET

THIS IS A RUSH TRANSCRIPT. THIS COPY MAY NOT BE IN ITS FINAL FORM AND MAY BE UPDATED.

THIS IS A RUSH TRANSCRIPT. THIS COPY MAY NOT BE IN ITS FINAL FORM AND MAY BE UPDATED.

LARRY KING, HOST:Good evening, I’m Larry King. Thsitus judi slot online resmi is week we’ve been keeping you updated on the condition of Roy Horn, half of the famed Vegas act Siegfried and Roy.And as you probably know, Roy suffered life threatening injuries during a show last Friday.One of the tigers in the act bit Horn and dragged him off the stage. Wednesday, we spoke with Roy’s partner, Siegfried Fischbacher.It daftar situs judi slot online terpercaya was Siegfried’s first interview since the incident.SIEGFRIED FISCHBACHER, ENTERTAINER:I say it was an accident. If it would be, the tiger would be out for killing Roy.It would be in no time.The tiger would be not anysitus slot online more.

KING:Do you think he was trying to help him?

FISCHBACHER:That’s exactly what I think.

FISCHBACHER:Roy falls and he want to protect, because that’s the injury, you know.And animal like this and tripping and it gone over there.And the claws, when we went, I saw it we doing right. When we went there, he was in extra danger, right.So he took Roy and he put him back stage behind the curtain.

FISCHBACHER:To protect him.And then he let Roy go and went back.

FISCHBACHER:Roy said, don’t harm the tiger.

KING:While we join their many fans around the world in wishing Roy a speedy recovery.Tonight we want to take you back to happier times.

It was 1999, the duos Vegas act was going strong and they were celebrating a release of a great IMax film chronicaling their life story.It’s an amazing tale as you are about to hear.

Tonight, the most popular live performers in Las Vegas history.Their incredible act of illusion has drawn tens of millions of fans, and now they’re going to be featured in a new IMAX movie, and they’re here with us,

Siegfried and Roy are next on LARRY KING LIVE.

It’s a great pleasure to welcome as our special guests tonight on LARRY KING LIVE the two top-drawing performers in Las Vegas history. If you haven’t seen them, when you do see them, you have a treat in store.They’re Siegfried & Roy.They’re performing nightly at the Mirage Hotel in Las Vegas.And they’re going to be featured in a IMAX movie, which will open September 23 in Los Angeles and September 27 in New York.IMAX is a very special process.And it’s called “Siegfried & Roy and the Magic Box.”

Before we trace their incredible history, how, Siegfried, did this come about, this IMAX thing?

SIEGFRIED FISCHBACHER, “SIEGFRIED & ROY”:Well, you know, somebody read our autobiography, somebody saw our show and liked it and thought this is going to be a great script, and the script was our life.

KING:So this is your biography, Roy?

ROY UWE LUDWIG HORN, “SIEGFRIED & ROY”:Yes, it’s our life story.It is based on our life story.It’s the story no one wrote. It is the story life itself wrote.

KING:But it’s done in IMAX, meaning we have that incredible wide screen that almost…

FISCHBACHER:It’s also in 3-D.It’s in tiga-D dimension, and it gives us — allows us to be very intimate with our audience, and so…

KING:But the question, Roy, is, since it’s being shot with film and the like, did people get to see how you do your illusions?

HORN:That’s exactly right, because as an illusionist, you want to take the people anywhere.

KING:Correct.HORN:You want to let them just for a moment forget everything and let them think — when they think it’s real, then you take it away from them.But the magic of IMAX is a magic by itself.It allows the audience to be right along with you, but it doesn’t allow you as magician really to let them see anything, so we have to be really doing more than we normally would be doing.It’s a big challenge.

FISCHBACHER:Work harder, of course.You have to rechoreograph the whole thing.

But what happens is, the result was a fantastic one.I am very happy with it, and I saw the dailies, and it’s just incredible.

KING:Anxious to see it too.And we’ll be seeing little clips of it through the show tonight.And I’m going to see it when it opens.

By the way, later on in the acara, at the end of the show, we’re going to bring you two tiger cubs.They’re eight weeks old. Siegfried & Roy work with animals, and we’ll talk a lot about that as well.

Roy, are you magicians who do illusion or are illusionists who do magic, or are they the same?

HORN:It’s the same.It’s only more…

KING:I heard there’s a difference, though.Isn’t there a difference between a magician and an illusionist?

HORN:Yes a magician really manipulates with his hands.An illusionist walks with (UNINTELLIGIBLE) the audience all over, the entire spectrum of it.

FISCHBACHER:We’re more than that.

FISCHBACHER:I would say, I’m the magician, and he brought the magic into it, you know.

FISCHBACHER:I am the illusionist.Well actually in his mind, he’s more of an illusionist than I am.

HORN:He calls me a “fantasist.”

FISCHBACHER:In order to be a good illusionist, you have to be very realistic, and sometimes I am too realistic.But he’s always up there and…

KING:Let’s get a little history.You’re both from Germany.

How did this come about, Roy?How did you two meet?

HORN:Well, we met on an ocean liner.I run away from home as a young boy.

HORN:North Germany, Primahathen (ph).

And on the ship, I met Siegfried.He did magic act.

FISCHBACHER:On the side, it was my hobby.Magic was my hobby, you know.

KING:Were you working on the ship doing another job?

FISCHBACHER:Yes, I was steward and bartender, and I entertained the — one day the captain.The captain saw me and he says, well, you’re going to do it for the passengers, and became very successful, and one day Roy saw me there, was also a steward, and he saw when I took the rabbit out of the hat and vanished birds and so on, swallowed razor blades, and he said, if you can do that with a rabbit, could you do that with a cheetah?And I didn’t know he had a pet cheetah.So that’s a little story.

KING:What were you doing with a pet cheetah?Most people don’t have that.

HORN:It sounds very unlogical, but it was very logical for me. I was, as a child — I was not very good in communicating with people. We came from Germany after the war, so we didn’t have a whole lot, and I trusted more in my animals than I trusted in people.

FISCHBACHER:More actually, more.

HORN:It’s true.Animals are my passion, so — and magic became my life.So together I have both.

KING:Did you form the act on the ship?

KING:You started to work together on the ship?

HORN:Begun, situs slot terpercaya yes.KING:Where, for want of a better term, was your big break?

FISCHBACHER:Monte Carlo was the big break.

KING:Were you called “Siegfried & Roy”?

FISCHBACHER:Yes, but, the big break…

HORN:”Siegfried & Partner.”

HORN:After that. I figured out that he cannot have all the glory by himself, so I put myself into the act.

FISCHBACHER:Well, I could say, the break, for me, the break was at the moment I left my family, home.

FISCHBACHER:Get out of Germany.Get away from my home town, I would say.

FISCHBACHER:Because, you know, you’ve been raised differently. We are, in my time, you know, we had a very difficult family.

FISCHBACHER:My father was an alcoholic and so on, so, and everything…

FISCHBACHER:I was always the boy he never can be good.He never will be nothing.He — you know.

FISCHBACHER:But the farther I went away from home to more secure I become myself.Even my last words, and that sounds a little tough, when my mother said:If you leave now, you don’t have to come back again.But that doesn’t mean that — she loved me very much.I know it.But we never could show it.We never…

KING:We’ll take a break and come back with Siegfried & Roy. And later, you’re going to meet some little baby tigers.

(BEGIN VIDEO CLIP, “SIEGFRIED & ROY: THE MAGIC, THE MYSTERY”)

FISCHBACHER:Siegfried was the ship’s magician.He had a rabbit.Roy was a situs judi slot online steward.He had something better: a cheetah.

Now in show business, you don’t have to be just good, you’ve got to be different, and Roy made all the difference in the world.

(BEGIN VIDEO CLIP, “SIEGFRIED & ROY: THE MAGIC BOX”)

HORN:My closest companion and fierce protector.

Together, we would look up across the corn fields to the ships in the distance.Could it be a higher power (UNINTELLIGIBLE) our true desires?

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started