Electric Arches

 · 3,218ratings · 466reviews <a href="https://ssitus slot terpercaya itussitus judi slot online resmi slotonlineqq.blogspot.com/” target=”_blank”>situs judi slot online

Start your review of Electric Arches

Nov 24, 2017Roxanerated itsitus slot online really liked it

I wasn’t quite sure how to feel about this book. The poems that were amazing were truly amazing, full of richness and depth about black girlhood and black womanness. The same goes for the amazing prose pieces. There was an interesting strain of afro futurism throughout that I wish was more fully explored. I stumbled with the book’s structure and arrangement because I was looking for more of a connective tissue. But oh, the spirit of this collection soars and Ewing tackles so much across the writ…more

Oct 03, 2018Michaelrated itliked it

A whimsical collection of poetry, prose, and art, Electric Arches explores the depths of Black girlhood and womanhood. Ewing writes accessible poems mostly based on her sundry memories of growing up in Chicago. As with her stories, though, her poems often take fantastical turns. The collection is divided into three parts of similar length, and the principles of Afro-futurism and magical realism appear in each. While I enjoyed some of the pieces, especially those in the second section, the collec…more

Nov 16, 2017Carolrated itit was ok

There were moments of magic, but too few. There was no discernible theme or context/connection from one work to the next.

Ewing’s prose is lilting and magnificent. I loved, “What I talk about When I Talk About Black Jesus.”

For several poems where the lines were presented in script, they were nigh unto illegible. The font was too small to read, for those poems printed with white font in a black background. The publisher did her no favors by not having a few readers comment specifically on the desi…more

Mar 03, 2018Vivianrated itliked it

I write this review as an outsider.

Poetry is often intensely personal in ways prose avoids. This is a collection of insights, remembrances, and calls to push forth. It is also an invitation for readers, to bear witness, to reflect.

“What words can you offer us to help us be free black people in a world that does not love us?”

A rating on technique I am not qualified to give, so the rating is strictly subjective. I did enjoy it. I appreciated being invited to step inside a place I’m not allowed an…more

Sep 02, 2017Ericarated itit was amazing

Everything about this was everything I needed in life, but didn’t know. Every word was chosen carefully, and the combination of real life and magic is sincerely beautiful. daftar situs judi slot online terpercaya Multiple times I cried and the poem about Fullerton Ave was amazing. And to the notebook kid, which I’ve read before to my students, is still SO GOOD.

If you love chicago, if you love being black, if you love magical realism, if you think you like poetry but aren’t sure, this book is for you.So basically, for everyone who love…more

Sep 19, 2017Lucyrated itit was amazing

This came in the mail today, I sat down to look at it and ended up reading the whole thing in one sitting. Eve Ewing’s writing is spectacular, the kind of poetry that makes you hold your breath as you read without even realizing it. Please, get this book….more

When I first heard about Electric Arches, I looked forward to reading Ewing’s book. I had been impressed by Ewing’s scholarly research and academic biography. With this said, I was a bit disappointed in this book for the following reasons:

1) The haphazard organization of the poems made this book difficult to read.

2) The structure of the poems included awkward and abrupt line breaks .

3) The collection included “filler” poems that did not connect to the theme of Black girlhood or Black womanhood (…more

Mar 29, 2018Ellierated itliked it

An interesting mix of poetry, prose, and art. Powerful meditations on growing up as a black female in Chicago. Ewing’s poems are both extremely specific yet bloom beyond that, filled with memories of the past and the future….more

Electric Arches by Eve L. Ewing is absolutely stunning. With a dash of the tale of an alien invasion, Ewing takes us through black girlhood and womanhood, in a variety of prose, poetic, and artistic styles, all of which are gorgeous.

Ewing’s book is divided into three sections: ‘true stories,’ ‘oil and water,’ and ‘letters from the flatlands.’ Her poems, stories, and works took my breath away. Her words flow easily from page to page, casting visual shadows and best read, like so much poetry, alou…more

Sep 22, 2017Dionnerated itit was amazing

I’m not sure the last time I read a book that left me feeling so…human. “Electric Arches” reminded me that being Black is to be human in a way that is deeply rooted in the community, the Earth, and the cosmos. I cried multiple times while reading this, mostly because Ewing’s writing style is effortlessly moving, but also because the things she talks about are real, and important. I needed this book as much as I can honestly say you, and everyone else, need this book….more

Aug 29, 2017O’Phyliarated itit was amazing

Blending verse with magical realism and a dash of speculative fiction, Ewing’s words flow beautifully in a time where ugliness abounds. Electric Arches is what every black girl needs in her arsenal to face a world that hates her virulently. If you read this book, you will feel invincible….more

Electric Arches is a great combo of poetry and Afrofuturism. A lot of the poems went over my head, probably because I’m not American, but I loved the ones I liked.Would recommend for fans of Janelle Monae, Morgan Parker, and Willow Smith.

Oct 31, 2018Laurenrated itreally liked it

“I am in the universe and it is my haireach strand arched electric and perfectly stillbefore my eyes, dancing, crookedarranged just so in the airlike the last humming chord of a song.”.At the SalonEve L. Ewing, Electric Arches.Poetry, short prose, and artwork, gathered in this electric debut collection by Ewing.The first half of the book took awhile to warm up. ‘The Device’ with its scifi/fantasy bent was particularly intriguing and encouraged me to continue. The second half coalesced into somet…more

Aug 28, 2017Jalynnrated itit was amazing

This collection of poems, lyric essays and so on opened up a deeper meaning to shared black experiences, especially as a black woman. It’s a work of time travel for me, and disturbing the timeline to go back to a favorite poem space is totally okay here. I’m still floored to have been able to have an ARC of this book, and I hope it really touches other the way it touched me. I also hope that nonblack women find their own sense of comfort and happiness within the pages….more

I LOVE this book! Except for the part where it made me cry in a crowded cafeteria. That was not cool. It should come with a warning.

OK, it wasn’t crowded. But it was a cafeteria. And i did cry when i read What I Talk About When I Talk About Black Jesus. And there’s a lot more deadly stuff in there.

Honestly, buy this book. Give it to your friends and enemies. Then maybe she’ll write more….more

Stunning. Masterful. Find a copy to keep forever. To teach your daughters and sons and so forth. This book will and should live forever.

Jan 25, 2021Brirated itit was amazing

Such a dynamic and vivid collection. These poems are deeply rooted in place and sometimes people, which makes them simultaneously relatable and excitingly new. Faves include “Ode to Luster’s Pink Oil,” “Montage in a Car,” “What I talk about when I talk about Black Jesus” and “Thursday Morning, Newbury Street.”

Feb 18, 2021Yvonnerated itreally liked it

I’ve been in a big mood for poetry recently, and this is the first book since that mood struck that didn’t disappoint me in some way. That’s not to say I loved every single piece in this collection, and I did find some of the transitions rather abrupt, but I did find the poems that were truly good to have a depth, rhythm, and in certain places a playfulness with language that has been missing from much of the poems I’ve read recently. So for that it was extremely refreshing.

Oct 20, 2018Violettarated itit was amazing

“The work of the poet is not unlike the work of being black.Some days it is not work at all: only ease, cascading victory,the plenitude of joy and questions and delights and curiosities.Other days, you wonder if exile would be too lonelyand figure it can’t be worse than thinking you won’t make it home,the fear of your own teeth skidding across the ice.”-Sestina with Matthew Henson’s Fur suit, Eve L. Ewing…more

Dec 05, 2017Cynthiarated itliked it

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started